Navagraha Shanti Puja: Rituals, Costs and Blessings
  • Admin
  • April 24, 2024

Navagraha Shanti Puja: Rituals, Costs and Blessings

Hindus have many sacred ceremonies in which you will have an important puja named Navagraha Shanti Puja. This shanti puja is to please the nine planetary deities. These will help to give balance and harmony to one’s life. This ceremony is important in Hindu astrology. Puja will have a great impact on a person’s spiritual and physical existence. You can go to our website and book an Online Puja for Career and follow all the Hindu traditions and customs. In this handbook, we provide you with a full Navagraha Shanti Puja analysis with the entire process, cost, and benefits.

Significance: Navagraha Shanti Puja

In Hindu astrology, the Navagraha, or nine planets, are very important. They are thought to influence human lives and world harmony. Each of these celestial bodies is connected with every aspect of life. This can have either beneficial or bad impacts. It is based on one’s horoscope. This Shanti Puja is a ritualistic exercise. It aimed at pleasing these planets to reduce their negative impacts and increase their positive benefits.

The Navagraha consists of

  • Sun (Surya)
  • Moon (Chandra)
  • Mars (Mangal)
  • Mercury (Budha)
  • Jupiter (Guru)
  • Venus (Shukra)
  • Saturn (Shani)
  • Two shadow planets, Rahu and Ketu.

9 Planets of Harmony and Balance

This Shanti Puja is a complex ritual. It is designed to balance the effect on a person’s life. The puja seeks to balance out negative energy. This increases positive ones by calling upon the nine planets, or Navagrahas. Each planet is related to a specific facet of our existence. This can have several effects on our well-being. The Navagraha Shanti Puja is more than just an act of worship. It is a spiritual connection that reconnects us with the cosmic rhythm. You should explore the Book Online Pujas Services to gain a new perspective on Hindu tradition and custom.

During the puja, offerings are presented to each of the nine planets, and certain mantras are performed to appease them. The list below outlines the major elements connected with each planet:

  • Sun (Surya): Governs soul, power, and health.
  • Moon (Chandra): Influences emotions and mind.
  • Mars (Mangal): Controls energy, strength, and property.
  • Mercury (Budha): Affects communication and intellect.
  • Jupiter (Guru): Represents wisdom and wealth.
  • Venus (Shukra): Relates to love, beauty, and comfort.
  • Saturn (Shani): Impacts discipline, responsibility, and longevity.
  • Rahu (North Node): Associated with worldly desires and material manifestations.
  • Ketu (South Node): Linked to spirituality and detachment.

Complete Puja Methodology

The Navagraha Shanti Puja involves a series of complicated ceremonies used to invite and worship many deities. At the start of the procedure, invoking the Sheshnaag involves offering milk, curd, and ghee and reciting certain mantras. Placing a betel nut and a penny in the urn symbolizes the request for Goddess Lakshmi’s favor.

Other deities worshipped during the puja include the God of Directions (Dikpalas), the Snake God (Naga), and the Family Deity (Kuldevata). Each deity represents a distinct aspect of life and worshippers seek their protection and blessings. They adorn the urn with flower garlands, and engrave the word ‘Shri’ in vermillion on five stones, which they then place in the northeast corner of the puja area.

The worship of these deities is said to remove impediments and bring beneficial energy, ensuring the accomplishment of the undertakings for which the puja is performed. The following list highlights the main things and behaviors involved in worship:

  • Add water, soil, and medicine to the urn.
  • Decorate the urn and light incense.
  • Write ‘Shri’ on the urn and stones.
  • Place idols of different elements on each Kalash.
  • Begin the puja by worshiping all of the urns.

Chanting Mantras and Offering Samagri

Following the opening rituals and the preparation of the puja location, the core of the Navagraha Shanti Puja consists of singing certain mantras and offering various samagri (holy items). Each mantra aims to appease a certain planet and devotees recite it with dedication to evoke the planet’s beneficial influence. The offerings made during the puja are symbolic and thought to have the capacity to appease the celestial bodies.

The most essential mantra said throughout the puja is ‘Om Vasundharaya Vidmahe Bhutadhatraya Dhimahi Tanno Bhumih Prachodayat’, which invokes Bhumi Devi’s blessings for prosperity and fortune. Other mantras, including those dedicated to Lord Ganesha and the Gayatri mantra, are believed to eliminate impediments and provide bliss when recited.
Samagri generally includes:

  • Deity idols include Lord Ganesha and Goddess Lakshmi.
  • Use holy water or Gangajal to cleanse the region.
  • Kalash is a pot of water topped with coconut and mango leaves.
  • Havan Kund is the sacred fire pit for conducting havan.
  • These offerings are given with reverence, and each object serves a specific purpose in the ritual, adding to the overall effectiveness of the puja.

Cost Considerations: Navagraha Shanti Puja

When preparing for Navagraha Shanti Puja, it is critical to precisely assess the cost of puja items. The costs might vary greatly based on the type and amount of things required. Puja utensils, holy cloths, incense sticks, and diverse offerings such as fruits, flowers, and seeds are among the many items available. Item selection should be done carefully, taking into account both traditional significance and budget limits. Here’s a basic summary of possible expenses for common puja materials:

  • Puja utensils (Aarti plate set, Aasan): ₹200 – ₹500
  • Sacred items (Camphor, Elaichi, Chandan): ₹50 – ₹150 per item
  • Offerings (Fruits, Flowers, Betel leaves): ₹100 – ₹300
  • Deity idols and decoration items: ₹500 – ₹4000

Keep in mind that these are projected ranges, and actual prices may vary depending on region and market conditions. Furthermore, certain products, such as Navratnas or Panchdhatu, may have greater costs due to their inherent value. You can go to our website and book an Online Puja for Navgrah Shanti and follow all the Hindu traditions and customs.

Also Read About: Tapping into Spiritual Wealth: The Essence of Purnima Puja and Mantras